#MotoGP – Red Bull U.S. Grand Prix statistics

Posted on July 25th, 2012 at 10:18 am

Grand Prix racing numbers
75 – Stefan Bradl has scored 75 points from the first nine races since moving up to the MotoGP class – this is already the highest number of points scored in a single season by a German rider in MotoGP. The record was held by Alex Hofmann who scored 65 points in the 2007 season.
33 years – On race-day at the US Grand Prix it will be exactly 33 years to the day that Randy Mamola finished second at the 1979 Finnish Grand Prix at Imatra to become the youngest-ever rider to finish on the podium in the premier-class. The record of 19 years and 260 days still stands to this day.
31 – Nicky Hayden celebrates his 31st birthday on the Monday following the US Grand Prix; on the same day Aleix Espargaro has his 23rd birthday.
21 – At the Italian Grand Prix, Dani Pedrosa qualified on pole for the 21st time in the MotoGP class; this is the highest number of premier-class poles by a Spanish rider, one more than his great rival Jorge Lorenzo.
20 – This will be the 20th occasion that there has been a motorcycle Grand Prix held in the USA. The first two events in 1964 and 1965 were held at the famous Daytona circuit. Thirteen GP events have taken place at the Laguna Seca circuit and there have been four held at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.
8th – Casey Stoner’s 8th place at the Italian Grand Prix is his worst finishing position since he was 14th at the British Grand Prix at Donington in 2009 when both Stoner and his then team-mate Nicky Hayden gambled on conditions getting worse and used wet weather tyres on a drying track.
5 – Five riders in the MotoGP class have scored at every one of the opening nine races of the year: Dani Pedrosa, Cal Crutchlow, Valentino Rossi, Nicky Hayden and Hector Barbera.
5thValentino Rossi’s 5th place finish at Mugello was his best dry weather result since he finished 4th at the Dutch TT last year.
4th – Stefan Bradl’s 4th place finish at the Italian GP is the best result by a German rider in the premier-class since Michael Rudroff was third at the Italian GP at Misano in 1989, a race that was boycotted by the top riders on safety grounds. The last time that a German rider finished in the top-four in the premier-class at a GP not boycotted by the top riders was when Dieter Braun was third in the 500cc Belgium GP in 1974 behind Phil Read and Giacomo Agostini.
3 – Three of the riders who will be competing this year have taken part in all seven MotoGP races that have taken place at Laguna Seca since the return of Grand Prix racing in 2005: Colin Edwards, Valentino Rossi and Nicky Hayden.
3 – At the Italian GP, Andrea Dovizioso finished on the podium for the third successive race. The last rider from a satellite team to have three successive podium finishes was Marco Melandri in 2006.
3 – Jorge Lorenzo has been on pole for the US GP at Laguna Seca for the last three years.
2 – Since the Indianapolis Grand Prix last year only two riders, Casey Stoner and Dani Pedrosa, have finished in front of Jorge Lorenzo when he has completed a race.


US Grand Prix facts and statistics

This is the 14th occasion that a Grand Prix event has been held at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, and below are a collection of facts and statistics from the 13 previous Grand Prix events held at the circuit:

The first US Grand Prix at Laguna Seca took place in 1988. The 500cc race was won by Eddie Lawson, with Wayne Gardner finishing second and Niall Mackenzie taking the final place on the podium.

Following this initial visit in 1988, there was a US Grand Prix held through to 1994, with the exception of 1992.

After an absence of ten years, Grand Prix racing returned to Laguna Seca in 2005, with the track slightly modified, increasing the length from 2.196 miles (3.534 km) to 2.243 miles (3.61 km). The Laguna Seca circuit is the shortest on the current Grand Prix calendar.

Home riders dominated the 2005 event with Nicky Hayden taking his first Grand Prix victory in front of Colin Edwards. This race was the last time that riders from the USA have had a one-two finish in Grand Prix racing.

Of the thirteen premier-class races held at Laguna Seca, seven have been won by riders from the USA: Eddie Lawson in 1988, Wayne Rainey in 1989, 1990 & 1991, John Kocinski in 1993, and Nicky Hayden in 2005 & 2006.

Since Nicky Hayden’s victory in 2006, there has not been an American rider finish on the MotoGP podium at the Laguna Seca GP. The best result for an American rider since 2006 is 4th by Ben Spies last year.

Since returning to Laguna Seca in 2005 with the four-stroke MotoGP machines, Honda have had four wins, Yamaha have had two and Ducati a single victory in 2007.

Five times in the last six years the rider who won at Laguna Seca has gone on to win the world title in the same year; the exception is Dani Pedrosa who won the US GP in 2009.