#CEV – Jerez host the firts race of CEV Buckler 2012 this weekend

Posted on March 29th, 2012 at 4:12 am

This weekend, the famous motor racing circuit of Jerez, sees the return for the first round of the CEV Buckler National motorcycling Championship. A total of 22 nationalities will be representing their countries at the first meeting of the season, with a high number of the riders coming from other continents. The lineup of riders from countries, outside of the European border, highlights that the CEV Buckler competition is recognized and respected as a high level competition.

After winning the 2011 CEV Buckler series, Moto2 rider Jordi Torres will return to defend his title. 125GP champion Alex Rins and Stock Extreme champion Iván Silva, will not be racing in this competition after they have both proved that they have reached a high enough standard to make a step up onto the world stage of MotoGPTM. Rins has secured a seat with Estrella Galicia 0’0 in the debut of the new Moto3 category and Silva will ride for the newly formed CRT series with Avintia Racing on a BQR-FTR machine.

It will be exciting to watch the evolution in the new Moto3 class. CEV Buckler will be the first competition in the world to host this category and, due to the lack of history and racing statistics available, it will make for a very open an exciting year for the riders of these new Honda 250cc prototypes. Riders that are likely to set the pace and watch out for will be last year’s 125GP runner up Alex Márquez and third placed Francesco Bagnaia. The riders and teams of this new 4-stroke category will have to work hard to achieve good results whilst competing against a starting grid of 36 motorcycles.

In Moto2TM Jordi Torres will have to work hard to repeat last season’s victory and retain his title as he has to compete against up and coming stars Dani Rivas, Tomoyoshi Koyama or Román Ramos, who will in turn have to contend with the addition of new world class riders, such as Santiago Hernández, Miguel Praia and Kenny Noyes. This line up will ensure an intense fight to be the 2012 CEV Buckler Champion.

A total of 37 riders will participate in the highly popular category of Stock Extreme. Last year’s runner-up, Santiago Barragán, will be rivaled by the 2010 winner Xavi Forés and the multi CEV Buckler champion Carmelo Morales, who returns to this category. Not forgetting the popular riders Javier Del Amor, Kyle Smith, Enrique Ferrer and Adrián Bonastre among others.

This year see’s Kawasaki Ninja Cup celebrate its sixth anniversary in the competition. Last year’s third placed Miguel Ángel Poyatos, has been considered a possible favorite this year; but with many new riders in the lineup for 2012, this category will again see exciting racing in what has become an excellent entry point into competitive racing at the highest level.